Wife of a Beer Geek

Falling for Beer September 9, 2010

Filed under: Trying new brews — wifeofabeergeek @ 4:26 am
Tags: , , , , ,

I am totally looking forward to this autumn season. I had a fulfilling summer with multiple visits to the beach (yes, the beautiful Jersey shore!), a 2,200 mile road trip, and plenty of hot summer sun. So yes, I am enjoying the first cool breezes that fall brings – and especially anticipating the beer season that goes along with it.

I like almost anything with pumpkin in its name. I am a sucker for that manipulative advertising: Pumpkin Spice Coffee, Pumpkin Muffins, Pumpkin Patches. (Not sure why, but Pumpkin pie doesn’t really make the list).  So, I am thrilled at the vast bottles of pumpkin beer that fill the shelves this month. Call it an Oktober Pumpkin Autumn brew, and I’m in. Ok sure, I realize that I may be a little naive and that I’m being brainwashed in the marketing of these autumn flavors – and I totally get point made in the blog post by Thank Heaven for Beer on fall token beers – but I am still a newbie and getting a hold of true craft beers in this experiment of being the wife of a beer geek (not experimenting the wife part, just the beer part).

So, although the case that my beer geek brought home tonight doesn’t include my key noted ingredient above, I am still looking forward to the celebratory seasonal name: Stoudts Oktoberfest, also a brewing company in PA. Although my BG called it mild (he prefers a kick of something), I am really enjoying it and find it very drinkable with a good flavor. I’ll leave it to the experts on Beer Advocate for a real review. But I’d order this again, even if it wasn’t autumn.

So, I hope this season I will taste many a microbrew with pumpkin or not and expand the horizons of my brewsky knowledge (and hopefully not so much my waist). I anticipate a few fall brew fests in the future for my beer geek and I, and would happily take any recommendations that will be happening in the Philly area.

Cheers!

 

One Response to “Falling for Beer”

  1. […] It’s the well-known and well liked Punkin Ale by Dogfish Head. It was a great start to my falling for beer […]


Leave a comment